Big League: Luzige Hat-trick Inspires Ndejje Past Kataka

Friday 3rd March
Ndejje University 3-2 Kataka

Captain Nicholas Luzige bagged a hat-trick to guide Ndejje University past Kataka in a five-goal Big League thriller at the Arena of Visions in Luweero.

Aguocho Jonathan and Tiff Kahandi were on target for the visitors who reorded a 3-2 win.

This fixture never disappoints as far as goals are concerned after a seven-goal thriller in the reverse fixture that saw Ndejje University edge Kataka 4-3 in Njeru.

It’s the first home win for Ndejje University and they managed it in style with a double over Kataka to boost their relegation battle.

The hosts started brightly and had two penalty appeals waved off after Luzige and Ndyamuhaki Norman were fouled in the area.

Skipper Luzige broke the deadlock in the 31st minute capitalising on poor game reading from the Goalkeeper who failed to deal with a long ball that was brushed by Derrick Otim just to find him unmarked to head his side infront.

The visitors restored parity at the stroke of halftime through Agoucha with a belter after the hosts failed to clear Stephen Namaisi long throw in in the 47th minute.

In the second half, Luzige restored his side’s lead with a long range freekick in the 67th minute after a foul on Otim by Odongo Francis.

The hosts lead lasted just three minutes after Nandala Nassur header deflected off Kahandi following another long throw from Namaisi in the 70th minute.

In the 92nd minute, Luzige completed his hat-trick from the spot following a second retake due to encroachment after Mubarak Kaggwa brought down Otim in the box.

Ndejje University move out of the relegation zone with 23 points after 19 points in 12th leapfrogging Kataka FC who now drops 13th in the relegation zone with 21 points.

Next Fixtures

They will both return to action on Thursday 9th, Ndejje University will travel away to Calvary FC at Midigo Ground while Kataka will host Mbarara City at Mbale Municipal Stadium.

Team Sheets

Ndejje University XI: Lubanga Lawrence (GK), Davis Kakaire, Charles Mbazira, Josephat Ayebare, Abdallah Mwima, Abigaba Vincent, Wafula Ivan, Nicholas Luzige, Derrick Otim, Norman Ndyamuhaki, Taban Philip.

Kataka XI: Willy Mapamba (GK), Francis Odongo, Stephen Namaisi, Ibrahim Pengere, Mubarak Kaggwa, Lazarus Ocira, Swamad Okur, Nassur Nandala, Tiff Kahandi, Usama Khayemba, Jonathan Aguocha.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *