Pilsner UPL Season Awards: Karisa MVP, List of Winners Revealed

Milton Karisa of Vipers with his four awards at the UPL Dinner

Vipers captain was crowned the Best Player of the 2022/23 Uganda Premier League season at the glamorous Pilsner-sponsored League awards at Sheraton Hotel in Kampala.

He played 26 matches; scored nine goals, eight assists and five player of the match awards. He got 42.6% votes from the fans and most votes from the panel as well.

To win the best player of the season, Karisa beat Charles Bbaale (SC Villa) and Simon Tamale (Maroons).

Karisa took home three more gongs to headline the night after a successful season in which he notably helped Vipers defend the League.

He was voted the Coaches’ Player of the season (award voted for by all the 15 coaches in the league), named in League’s Best XI and also took home the Most Assists gong.

The Assists award was a shocker to many as earlier UPL stats indicated that Allan Okello (KCCA) had the highest on eight.

But it was revealed that Karisa tied with Okello and Gaddafi Wahab (Arua Hill) on 8 assists, with the Vipers winger edging it having scored 9 goals. Okello and Gaddafi had 6 and 5 in that order.

The Top Highlight

The best moment of the night saw Legend Andrew ‘Fimbo’ Mukasa honoured with a Platinum Award, an accolade that went to Lawrence Mulindwa last season.

The award is given to an individual who has tremendously contributed to the growth of the League or left a diligent mark.

And Fimbo was a fitting receiver. His 45 goals with SC Villa to win the Top scorer golden boot in 1999 season is still unrivalled.

He has been troubled with mental illness for a couple of years, which also sent him to retirement, but his smile on the night while receiving the award may not heal the wounds but will surely clean it’s surface at least.

Other Winners

Fair play team of the year went to Blacks Power after the side, despite relegagion, received the least yellow cards (30) and was not given a red card throughout the season.

The Players’ player of the season was Charles Bbaale, an accolade voted for by Club Captains in the League. The Villa forward scored 12 goals, one behind league top scorer Allan Kayiwa.

The Young Player of the season was taken by Darius Ojok of Maroons. Aged 19, he played 15 matches and scored four goals.

Simon Tamale of Maroons took home the goalkeeper of the season – He kept 13 clean sheets in 27 matches played, 7 man of the match awards (highest in the season) and two player of the month awards.

Defender of the season award was given to Hilary Mukundane of Vipers. He played 26 of the 28 matches and scored one goal. He had four Player of the match awards.

Laban Tibita of Busoga United was given the Midfielder of the season who had seven goals, four assists and five player of the match awards.

Coach of the season award went to Alex Isabirye who guided Vipers to the League title, while his work at BUL earlier in the season was commendable.

Express captain Allan Kayiwa was without doubt the League’s top scorer with 13 goals in 26 matches.

List of winners

•Milton Karisa (Vipers SC) – Winner
•Charles Bbaale (SC Villa)
•Simon Tamale (Maroons)

•Laban Tibita (Busoga United) – Winner
•Lawrence Bukenya (Wakiso Giants)
•Wahab Gadafi (Arua Hill)

•Gift Fred (SC Villa)
•Hillary Mukundane (Vipers SC) – Winner
•Warren Buule (Bright Stars)

•Hassan Matovu Muyomba (Bright Stars)
•Nafian Alionzi (URA)

  1. Simon Tamale (Maroons) – Winner

•Jackson Magera (SC Villa)
•Alex Isabirye Musongola (Vipers) – Winner
•Mohammed Ssenfuma (Maroons)

•Darius Ojok (Maroons) – Winner
•Patrick Jonah Kakande (SC Villa)
•Saidi Mayanja (KCCA)

Other Categories

•Fair Play team of the Season – Blacks Power
•Coaches Player of Season – Milton Karisa (Vipers)
•Most Assists – Milton Karisa (Vipers)
•Top Scorer – Allan Kayiwa
•Players Player of the Season – Charles Bbaale (SC Villa)
•Platinum Award – Andrew ‘Fimbo’ Mukasa

Team of the Season (Best XI)

•Simon Tamale (Maroons)
•Matsiko Grant (Wakiso Giants)
•Denis Kaka (Bright Stars)
•Gift Fred (Villa)
•Hillary Mukundane (Vipers)
•Bukenya Lawrence (Wakiso Giants)
•Gaddafi Wahab (Arua Hill)
•Laban Tibita (Busoga United)
•Milton Karisa (Vipers)
•Charles Bbaale (Villa)
•Allan Kayiwa (Express)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *