Express Beat Busoga United For First Win

Action at Njeru. (Photo by Jale Morgan)

Thursday, September 28
•Bright Stars 1-1 URA FC
•Busoga United 0-2 Express

Express secured their maiden victory of the 2023/24 Uganda Premier League season with a deserved 2-0 triumph against hosts Busoga United at Njeru.

The breakthrough came courtesy of Allan Kayiwa’s penalty, following Stephen Odongo’s foul on Isaac Wagoina in the first half, which last season’s top scorer calmly slotted in from 12 yards.

Express extended their lead in the Second Half when Isma Kawawulo’s corner caused chaos in Busoga United’s defense, leading to an unfortunate own goal by Odongo who was trying to defend Alpha Ssali.

Despite Busoga United’s attempts to level the game, including hitting the crossbar twice, Express remained resilient.

Their first attempt fell to Jeremy Matata who struck the woodwork from freekick before Emmanuel Ajo’s header off Fredrick Ngalo’s cross also hit the crossbar.

Arthur Kiggundu, an Express defender, almost scored an own goal with a headed clearance that narrowly missed the net.

Express had their share of opportunities, with Captain Kayiwa, nearly netting a second goal, only to see his deflected effort saved by the keeper.

Michael Lutaaya, the Busoga United goalkeeper, denied Wagoina after beating his opponent.

Although Bashamu Mugwa appeared to pull one back for the hosts in added time, it was disallowed due to an offside call.

This victory marks a first win for Express, who began their season with a goalless draw against Mbarara City last week.

On the other hand, Busoga United, who started the season with a win against Arua Hill, have now suffered two consecutive defeats, including a 5-0 loss to NEC FC.

What Next – Busoga United will welcome Mbarara City at Njeru while Express host Bright Stars at Wankulukuku

Players Used

Busoga United – Michael Lutaaya, Isaac Isinde, Charles Sanday Mulanda, Fredrick Ngalo, Julius Debbo, Elvis Kibaale, Stephen Odongo, Isaac Doka Mweru, Ibrahim Kayiwa, Jeremy Matata, Elvis Kibbale

Express – Abdul Kimera, Derrick Ngoobi, Isa Lumu, Arthur Kiggundu, Isma Kawawulo, Hussein Ssenoga, Isaac Wagoina, Alpha Ssali, Emmanuel Wasswa, Sheiff Batte, Allan Kayiwa



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *