Jubilant City Oilers Fall Short in BAL Elite 16 Final

Sunday, November 26

•Cape Town Tigers (South Africa) 70-68 City Oilers (Uganda)

Third place:
•COSPN (Madagascar) 78-79 Dynamo (Burundi)

City Oilers secured the second spot in the BAL Elite 16 qualification round, finishing as runners-up after a narrow 68-70 defeat against hosts Cape Town Tigers in Johannesburg on Sunday.

Both teams had already secured their places in the Basketball Africa League due next year after triumphing in their semifinal matches on Saturday.

And the final match, though merely for bragging rights, saw Cape Town Tigers emerge victorious in a closely contested game that began with a tied first quarter of 22-22.

Cape Town Tigers clinched the win through a late jumper by Malian point guard Cartier Ducati Diarra and they had to survive after Robinson Opong couldn’t execute a corner-three attempt in the final play, handing the Oilers their first defeat in the tournament.

Previously, the Oilers had emerged victorious against COSPN (Madagascar), JBC (Zimbabwe), and Ferroviario da Beira (Mozambique) to top their group.

They solidified their place in the BAL by defeating Dynamo of Burundi 72-61 in Saturday’s crucial semifinal, securing their second consecutive season in the league.

This loss marks the second consecutive defeat for the Oilers against Cape Town Tigers, following their previous encounter in last year’s semifinals.

Leading the scorers for City Oilers was Germaine Roebuck with 19 points on 8-of-17 shooting, while Parish Petty and Brandon Ssebirumbi contributed 14 and 10 points, respectively.

Meanwhile, Terrance Ferguson and Petty Larrier led the charge for Cape Town Tigers, each contributing 17 points to secure their team’s victory.

In the decisive third place match, David Deng Dikong scored 17 points and 8 rebounds as Dynamo beat COSPN 79-78 to seal the last ticket to Basketball Africa League.

Confirmed 12 Teams;
Al Ahly (Egypt), Petro (Angola), APR (Rwanda), AS Douanes (Senegal), US Monastir (Tunisia), Bangui (Central Africa Republic), FUS Rabat (Morocco), Al Ahly Benghazi (Libya), Rivers Hoppers (Nigeria), City Oilers (Uganda), Cape Town Tigers (South Africa) & Dynamo (Burundi)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *