UPDF Lady Tomahawks Win Division One Unbeaten

Champions – UPDF Lady Tomahawks (FUBA Lower Division Photos)

The UPDF Lady Tomahawks were on Monday crowned champions of the 2023 FUBA Women Division One after an undefeated season.

They clinched the title with a 68-55 victory over the YMCA Lady Hamstars in Game Three of the best-of-five final series.

This completed a 3-0 sweep for the Lady Tomahawks, who also won Game One 70-53 and Game Two 74-60.

In their dominant performance, Dorah Nakijoba scored a double-double with 15 points and 18 rebounds.

Stella Maris Lunkuse (13), Linda Michelle Aber (12), and Charity Amito (10) also contributed with double-digit points for the UPDF Lady Tomahawks.

Despite Rose Adhiambo and Elsy Khaboshe’s 11 points each for YMCA, their efforts were not enough to secure the victory.

Both UPDF and YMCA initially earned places in the Women National Basketball League for the next season.

UPDF swept Legends in the semifinals, while YMCA overcame Watoto to secure their spots in the top division next season.

This has been an exceptional campaign for Ronnie Ashaba’s UPDF team, who have been competing in the division for the first time.

Their successful recruitment led to quality performances from their entire roster.

They started the season with a commanding 105-33 win over Seeta High and finished the regular season with a perfect 20-0 record. In the playoffs, they defeated Amazon Rhino in the Quarters and Legends in the semis. With a flawless 3-0 sweep in the final, they capped off their remarkable season with 27 wins in as many games.

It’s strong to note that their male counterparts, UPDF Tomahawks, were relegated from the National Basketball League last season.

UPDF Lady Tomahawks and YMCA Lady Hamstars replace Nkumba Lady Marines and Angels who were relegated from Women NBL last season.

These Monday games were initially scheduled to be played on Sunday at YMCA but later postponed to Monday due to rains.

In the Men’s final game three, JT Jaguars beat Livingstone 74-69 to take a 2-1 lead in the best of five final series.

UPDF Tomahawks: Patience Nantumbwe, Dorah Nakijoba, Stella Maris Lunkuse, Linda Michelle Aber, Sandra Asiimwe, Vanessa Kevin Kakai, Charity Amito, Namugerwa Blessing Martha, Aisha Namakula, Kush Nakazzi, Fauziah Namasamba, Naluyat Nakanyako



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *