T20 Africa Cup: Cricket Cranes Off To South Africa

Barely a week since their return from their historic voyage in Namibia, the Cricket Cranes will embark on another journey that is expected to yield excellent results.

The World Cup bound head to South Africa to defend the T20 Africa Cup they won in September last year.

The side coached by Jackson Ogwang was earlier on Thursday flagged off to the southern African nation for the tournament that will run between 11th and 19th December.

Out of the 15 players that made history in Namibia, only one misses out. David Wabwire has been left out as the required team number is 14.

The Cricket Cranes will seek to defend the title and crown a historical year with another achievement.

Uganda beat Tanzania by 8 wickets to win the inaugural edition last year in a final that Riazat Ali Shah owned.

Uganda will compete alongside seven other nations, but only three countries (Malawi, Botswana and Uganda) have been confirmed thus far.

The rest including Kenya and Rwanda are currently taking part in a qualifying event for this tournament. Tanzania, last year’s losing finalists will sit this one out.

The squad in full:

Roger Mukasa, Simon Ssesazi, Robinson Obuya, Riazat Ali Shah, Dinesh Nakrani, Frank Nsubuga, Brian Masaba (Captain), Alpesh Ramjani, Kenneth Waiswa, Ronak Patel, Kakuru Cyrus, Henry Ssenyondo, Bilal Hassun, Jonathan Ssebanja.

Officials: Jackson Ogwang (Head Coach), Tusiime Steve (Team Analyst), Shamim Nassali (Physiotherapist), Malinga Marion (Media Attache), Charles Waiswa (Team Manager).



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *