Ogwang Scores Again As Police Extend Lead At The Top

FUFA Big League; FT Results || Thursday, December 21

Ndejje 2-0 Young Elephants
Booma 4-1 Kigezi HomeBoyz
Calvary 2-1 Onduparaka
Blacks Power 1-1 Kyetume
Police 1-0 Kataka

Isaac Ogwang scored his tenth goal of the season as Police FC beat Kataka FC 1-0 at the Kavumba Recreation Grounds to register their ninth win in the FUFA Big League this term.

The Cops, who have also lost only once and drawn thrice so far this season have now gone to thirty points after 13 games.

Second placed Lugazi FC have 25 points, implying that regardless of their result against Jinja North FC on Saturday, December 22, Police will head into the Christmas break leading the 15-table.

Police’s lineup had upto four former Kataka players, but it’s only goalkeeper Edward Kasibante and forward Derrick Onyai who started against their former paymasters, while Ivan Eyam and Robert ‘Sizzo’ Otim started on the bench.

Ogwang found the back of the net in the 23rd minute to put the hosts ahead, capitalizing on Denis Kalanzi’s defence-splitting pass.

At the start of the second half, Dennis Kalanzi for a second thought he had got the second for the Cops, but he was flagged offside after looping the ball over the goalkeeper, from what would’ve been a very brilliant assist from Joseph Sentume had the goal stood.

After an hour played, Kataka’s Nasur Nandala was shown red card for repeatedly provoking the assistant referee with offensive language. He was sent away from the bench.

Police later on introduced Reagan Male and Timothy Muwanguzi for Onyai and Kalanzi as they intensified their search for a second goal, but Ogwang’s lone strike was just enough to grant the Cops a slim but very important 1-0 victory against a stubborn Kataka side.

How Police lined up against Kataka;

Police starting XI: Edward Kasibante (GK), Samuel Kayongo (C), Daniel Jakony, George Kiryowa, Martin Owalamu, Joseph Sentume, Gadaffi Kacancu, Duncan Sseninde, Raymond Onyai, Dennis Kalanzi, Isaac Ogwang

Kataka – Ali Mugaya, Stephen Namaisi, Imula Okello, Hassan Namisi, Lazarus Ocira, Swamad Okur, David Zaake, Latif Ssenkubuge, Michael Olinga, Shakulu Mafabi, Markus Christian Aka



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *