Maroons Put Five Past Gaddafi

UPL: FT Results | Saturday, December 30, 2023;

Maroons 5-0 Gaddafi
Wakiso Giants 0-1 SC Villa
Express 2-0 Vipers

Maroons FC beat Gaddafi FC 5-0 at Prisons Ground Luzira to climb up to the the third position on the Uganda Premier League table.

Patrick Bayiga, Abel Eturude, David Ndihabwe, Abraham Tusubira and Fred Amaku were all on target.

Goalkeeper Hannington Ssebwalunyo kept a clean-sheet for the the Prisons Warders as they held the Soldier Boys captive in Luzira.

Bayiga gave the hosts within the first five minutes if the game, and Eturude doubled their lead in the 27th minute before captain Ndihabwe also scored in the 42nd minute to ensure that Maroons go into the break commanding a 3-0 lead at home.

Tusubira scored Maroons’ fourth while Amaku in the 84th minute got the 5th for hosts, also his seventh this season to see that the Prisons side finishes the year on a high note.

The Saturday win against Gaddaffi takes Maroons to 25 points, leapfrogging Vipers SC that lost 2-0 to Express FC to stay at 24 points.

Isma Kawawulo and Isaac Wagoina scored for Express at the Muteesa II Stadium, Wankulukuku as coach Alex Isabirye put his former employers to the sword.

Leftback Kawawulo scored first for the Red Eagles with his weak right foot off a rebounder from Emmanuel Wasswa’s initial effort from a free-kick that hit the wall.

In the 76th minute, Wagoina scored the second to all but seal the deal for Express at Wankulukuku.

Lineups used:

Maroons Starting XI; Hannington Ssebwalunyo (GK), David Ndihabwe (C), Edward Kabona, Fred Amaku, Ronald Orombi, Abel Michael Eturude, Abraham Tusubira, Patrick Bayiga, Godwin Kitagenda, Darious Ojok, Aula Mpanga

Substitutes; Amir Nalugoda, Jacob Okao, Felix Okot, Solomon Walusimbi, Mujahid Ogama, Denis Rukundo, Isaac Mpagi Kajubi

Gaddaffi Starting XI; Andrew Ssekandi (GK), Douglas Bithum (C), Ibrahim Massa, Sharifu Ssengendo, Bithum Ronald Nsumbiano, Steven Munguchi, Baker Buyala, Amos Kirya, Frank Mulimi, Thomas Ochungo, Willis Otong

Substitutes; Najib Tusaba Gwaidho, Benson Muhindo, Jimmy Ndalambi, Yusuf Bogere, Herbert Onyango, Abdu Magada



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *