SC Villa Ease Past 10-man UPDF

UPL FT Results || Tuesday, January 2, 2024

SC Villa 3-0 UPDF FC
Mbarara City FC 2-1 Wakiso Giants
Busoga United 2-1 Kitara
Bright Stars 1-0 Maroons

SC Villa beat UPDF FC 3-0 at Muteesa II Memorial Stadium, Wankulukuku to climb up to the third position in the Uganda Premier League (UPL).

Norman Angufindru kept a clean sheet and Patrick Kakande scored a brace to inspire Villa to their seventh win of the season.

A Jimmy Okidi own goal in the 32nd minute, less than five minutes after Kakande had put SC Villa ahead in the 28th minute of the game ensured that the home side went into the halftime break with a comfortable 2-0 lead.

Just two minutes into the second half, Kakande completed his brace to put Villa in a commanding 3-0 lead that they defended to the last whistle.

The Jogoos, after Tuesday’s win now occupy third position on the 16-team UPL table, misplacing Maroons and Vipers from third and fourth to fourth and fifth positions respectively.

BUL and Vipers have each not played their 14th game yet, but Kitara and Maroons played and lost to SC Villa’s good. The Royals lost 2-1 away to Busoga United while the Prisons Warders lost 1-0 away to Bright Stars.

SC Villa, after accumulating 25 points from 14 games are now only seven points below table leaders BUL FC, and just one point behind second placed Kitara FC.

The 16-times UPL Champions are now a point and two places above defending Champions Vipers (24).

SC Villa is tied on the same number of points with Maroons, but the Jogoos have a better goal difference.

How both teams lined up:

SC Villa Starting XI; Norman Angufindru (GK), Kenneth Ssemakula (C), Arnold Odong, Joseph Kafumbe, Hakim Kiwanuka, Gavin Kizito, Charles Lwanga, Hamis Diego Ssemugera, Juma Ramathan, Abas Kyeyune, Patrick Kakande

Substitutes; Meddie Kibirige, Davis Owori, Elvis Ngonde, Aslam Ssemakula, Peter Onzima, Ronald Ssekiganda, Cyrus Kibande, Simon Mukisa, Edward Masembe, Rogers Kiwanuka, Hakim Mutebi

UPDF Starting XI; Yusuf Wasswa (GK), Bernard Muwanga (C), Christopher Kawagu, Christopher Tebandeke, Bright Vuni, Hussein Zinda, Muwadda Mawejje, Edward Kawooya, Faridi Rashid, Jibril Nsimbe, Ezekiel Katende

Substitutes; Jimmy Okidi, Daglas Oyirwoth, Bashir Kabuye, Robert Eseru, Oscar Agaba, Gerald Kimuli, Rogers Adriko



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *