Uganda Cup: Shaban Fires KCCA Past Bugisu United

Wednesday, January 24
*Fort City FC 1-4 Kyetume FC
*Kireka United 1-3 Young Elephants FC
*Bugisu United (Admin FC) 0-2 KCCA FC
*Synergy 1 (4) -1 (2) Mbarara City FC.

Tuesday, January 23, 2024;
*Bugarama FC 0 (5) -0 (4) Kigezi Homeboyz
*Kyambogo FC 1-4 Wakiso Giants
*Super E. Lugongwe (2) 1-1 (4) Jinja North United

•Busei Vs Maroons – Iganga
•Taiwan Vs SC Villa – Dokolo
•Northern Division Vs NEC – Mbale
•Rwenzori Lions Vs Kiyinda Boys – Bwera
•Dove Vs Kataka – Masindi
•Pajule Lions Vs UPDF – Pader

May not be played:
•Nsambya SC Vs Arua Hill – St Peter’s Nsambya

Muhammad Shaban scored twice at Mbale stadium on Wednesday as KCCA FC beat Bugisu United (formerly Admin FC) 2-0 to dump them out of the Stanbic Uganda Cup.

The striker scored a goal in either half of the game to see the Kasasiro Boys through to the round of 32.

Shaban put the visitors ahead in the 34th minute. He headed in from Arafat Usama’s well-calculated in-swinging cross from the right wing, coming off a short corner that was started quickly by Mustafa Kizza.

In the second half, seven minutes past the hour-mark, second half substitute Emmanuel Loki made a brilliant solo run on the left wing before setting up a cut back for Shaban to score the second for KCCA, also his second of the day.

After qualifying to the next round, the Kasasiro Boys have a chance to extend their record in the competition that they have won ten times (alongside Express FC).

Shaban has now scored eleven goals in all competitions for KCCA. He has eight league goals, plus two league cup goals. He also got one against Abu Salim in the CAF Confederation Cup earlier on in the season.

How both teams lined up:

Bugisu United XI; Ramathan Mubiru, Erasmus Okadapau, Hassan Sanya, Arajab Tibiita, Abumerick Padde, Shafik Muganza, Mike Kimuli, Godfrey Ssekirayi, Godwin Kawagga, Hussein Minala, Humaida Mugenyi

Substitutes; Baron Kironde, Abdu Nambale, Contra William, Rodgers Nanduhu, Ivan Jakuma

KCCA XI; Anthony Emojong, Filbert Obenchan, Mustapha Kizza, Musitafa Mujuzi, Rogers Atube, Joel Sserunjogi, Ashraf Mugume, Emmanuel Wasswa, Muhammad Shaban, Etienne Katenga, Arafat Usama

Substitutes; Derrick Ochan, Bruno Mfulu, Joseph Ogwang, Peter Magambo, Abu Mayanja, GUI Cungulo, Gabi, Dominic Ayella, Emmanuel Loki, Haruna Lukwago



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *