NEC Overcome Busoga United In Five-goal Thriller

Sunday, February 4
•Busoga United 2-3 NEC FC
•Bright Stars 1-0 Wakiso Giants

Joseph Dhata showcased his prowess with a remarkable double, propelling NEC FC to triumph over Busoga United in the Uganda Premier League clash at the FUFA Technical Centre.

Aggrey Madoi’s valiant effort, scoring a double for Busoga United, fell short of securing a point as Marvin Kavuma clinched the winning goal.

This victory solidifies NEC FC’s dominance over Busoga United, marking a second triumph after their earlier 5-0 success in the first round.

The first 45 minutes were a spectacle of football brilliance, witnessing four of the five goals in a thrilling display of skill and determination.

Dhata, strategically positioned at the start of the game, swiftly broke the deadlock in just one minute, courtesy of an assist from Brian Kayanja.

In the 38th minute, Dhata completed his brace, reclaiming the lead for his team after Madoi had earlier restored parity in the 21st minute from the penalty spot.

Madoi once again showcased his scoring prowess, leveling for Busoga United with a precise corner kick just before halftime.

The turning point came in the 71st minute when Marvin Kavuma, entering the game for Cromwell Rwothomio, swiftly secured NEC FC’s lead with a decisive free-kick, ultimately proving to be the match-winner.

With this triumph, NEC FC stands 6th on the log with an impressive 27 points, while Busoga United sits in 14th place with 15 points, highlighting the team’s contrasting positions in the league standings.

What Next

NEC FC will host Mbarara City on Friday February 9th at the Omondi Stadium while Busoga United return to action on Thursday February 22nd against Mbarara City at Kakyeka.

How they started

Busoga United – Michael Lutaaya, Bashamu Mugwa, Aggrey Madoi, Hassan Kintu, Simon Ogama, Hamisi Batega, Ibrahim Kayiwa, Emmanuel Ajo, Kasimba Musa, Moses Logono, George Dhafa

NEC XI: Benjamin Ochan(GK), Atendele Geriga, Rashid Okocha, Ibrahim Kiyemba, Gavin Mubutu, Shamir Kimwero, Gideon Odongo, Allan Mugalu, Brian Kayanja, Rwothomio Cromwell.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *