Super Eight: Bayo Bags Debut Brace As Vipers Beat KCCA FC In Final

Sunday, August 25
*Vipers 2-0 KCCA FC

Vipers’ striker Fahad Bayo notched a double on his debut to help Vipers beat KCCA FC 2-0 in a FUFA Pilsner Super Eight finals at Betway Muteesa II Stadium at Wankulukuku.

Vipers take home Sh20M while KCCA FC who had John Revita sent off late in the second half, bags Sh12M as prize money.

Action between KCCA FC (yellow) and Vipers at Wankulukuku. FUFA

The striker who joined the Venoms from Buildcon taunted KCCA FC defence with power and pace before nodding in from Abram Ndugwa’s well weighed freekick in the 11th minute.

He later doubled his advantage when he tapped in from close range from substitute Brian Nkuubi’s low assist from the right flank.

The striker also had his header kept out by Maliyamungu and his freekick was pushed out before he paved way for Denis Mwemezi.

KCCA FC team that started. FUFA

KCCA FC, playing 24 hours after their CAF Champions League qualifier against Namibia’s African Stars, looked rusty on the day.

Erisa Ssekisambu had his header ruled out for offside at the stroke of halftime, Allan Okello went for power but his effort went far and wide as KCCA FC tried to mount a challenge.

Jackson Nunda nodded in Herbert Achai’s way but the latter arrived late after goalkeeper Mutombora collected out of danger to deny the garbage collectors.

KCCA FC (yellow) looked the second best. FUFA

Revita was cautioned in the 82nd minute before receiving marching orders from referee Emmanuel Kiweewa in the 90th minute of the game for another foul on Substitute Tito Okello

To reach this stage, the Venoms had beaten Proline FC and Mbarara City FC on quarter and semis respectively. KCCA beat Wakiso 2-0 in the quarter final before eliminating Onduparaka FC.

It should be noted that KCCA FC won the inaugural edition when they beat Onduparaka FC 2-0 at Wankulukuku.

Pictorial: Get Best Photos For Vipers – KCCA FC

Pilsner Super Eight Prize Money:

Champion (Vipers SC) – Sh20M)
Runner up (KCCA) – Sh12M
Third (Mbarara) – Sh10M
Fourth (Onduparaka) – Sh8M
Fifth (URA) – Sh6M
Sixth (Wakiso) – Sh5M
Seventh (Tooro United) – Sh4M
Eighth (Proline FC) – Sh3M

Teams Used
Vipers Sc
Fabien Mutombora (GK), Paul Willa, Bashir Asiku, Siraje Ssentamu, Halid Lwaliwa(C), Farouk Musisi, Abraham Ndugwa, Frank Tumwesige, Innocent Wafula, Dan Sserunkuma, Fahad Bayo

Subs – Ochan Derrick, Rashid Toha, Rahmat Ssenfuka, Brian Nkuubi, Allan Kayiwa, Denis Mwemezi, Henry Kitegenyi, Brian Nkuubi, Mujahid Ogama, Shaban Mohammed, Ibrahim Tembo.

Jamil Malyamungu (GK), Peter Magambo, Samuel Kato, John Revita, Mustafa Kizza (C), Muzamiru Mutyaba, Erisa Ssekisambu, Allan Okello, Simon Peter Sserunkuma, Mike Mutyaba.

Subs – Charles Lukwago, Filbert Ochan, Eric Ssenjobe, Herbert Achai, Gift Ali, Sadat Anaku, Erisa Ssekisambu.

× Advertisment
%d bloggers like this: